The Four C's - Colour

When choosing a diamond you will more than likely be told about the 4 C’s. These relate to Cut, Colour, Clarity and Carat weight, and are classifications that are used to categorise diamonds, and to help define their true beauty.

The Colour

The colour grading of most gem-quality diamonds is actually based on lack of colour. A chemically pure and structurally perfect diamond will have no colour, and will consequently be rarer and more valuable. The Gemmological Institute of America’s (the GIA) colour grading system measures the degree of colourlessness by comparing the diamond against Masterstones of established colour value under controlled lighting conditions. Diamonds are graded from D to Z on a scale that ranges from colourless (D) to light colour (Z).

Diamond Colour

At Beaverbrooks we only hand select exceptional diamonds in the near colourless range (G-J), with the majority of our diamonds in our 18 carat and platinum ranges being classed as Rare White (G). This means that your Beaverbrooks diamond will have no visible colour and will appear bright and white.

Colours D,E,F,G and H Colours I, J, K and L Colours M to Z

Call free on 0800 169 2329

We're here Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm