The Four C's - Carat

When choosing a diamond you will more than likely be told about the 4 C’s. These relate to Cut, Colour, Clarity and Carat weight, and are classifications that are used to categorise diamonds, and to help define their true beauty.

The Carat

This is the measure of how much a diamond weighs. A metric ‘carat’ is defined as 200 milligrams, the term ‘carat’ being derived from the carob seed which was once used to weigh diamonds. Each carat can be subdivided into 100 ‘points’, allowing very precise measurement. The more a diamond weighs the more valuable it becomes, as larger diamonds are very rare.

Carob Seed

The Carob Seed

The carob seed is the original unit for weighing diamonds, from which the word ‘carat’ is derived

The Beaverbrooks diamond certificate.

We only ever issue our own certificate for the diamonds we personally hand select. We choose to do this as we think it’s essential our customers have our own personal endorsement and that of our company.

  • 0.25 Carat
    0.25 Carat
  • 0.50 Carat
    0.50 Carat
  • 1 Carat
    1 Carat
  • 1.25 Carat
    1.25 Carat
  • 1.5 Carat
    1.5 Carat
  • 1.75 Carat
    1.75 Carat
  • 2 Carat
    2 Carat
Call free on 0800 169 2329

We're here Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm